Close sidebar

Aherne Brace Helps Dublin To Convincing Win Over Galway

Dublin 4-8 Galway 1-10

All Ireland champions booked their place in this year’s decider with a seven point win over Galway this afternoon.

In the fourth minute Nicole Owens netted for Dublin and the All Ireland champions dominated from that point onwards. Sinead Aherne was nothing short of magnificent as she shot 1-2 without response.

Sarah Conneally was lively in the middle of the field for Galway and she was rewarded with a well taken point but that was to be Galway’s final score for 15 minutes.

Everything Dublin touched turned to gold. Aherne made another blistering run into goal and was pulled back, resulting in a penalty which she drilled into the top corner. It was far too easy for the Dubs as a short kick-out from Galway’s goalkeeper was easily over-turned allowing Carla Rowe to get on the scoreboard.

Lindsay Davey and Owens ensured Dublin began the second half with the same vigour but Galway proved that they weren’t going to lie down. Louise Ward wandered into her own half to collect possession and fed it forward but Leanne Coen’s effort just blazed over the bar. She had another opportunity just minutes later but Coen was surrounded and possession was won back by Dublin.

The All Ireland champions reasserted their dominance with 13 minutes left on the clock when Noelle Healy unselfishly set up Davey who fisted to the back of the net. The ever-reliable Tracey Leonard helped to reduce the gap with two pointed frees in quick succession before Olivia Divilly scored a much needed goal.

A rejuvenated Galway continued their onslaught through Leonard as they began to dominant possession but they failed to make it count on the scoreboard and as time ticked away, substitute Amy Connolly pointed for Dublin to ensure their win.

Dublin march on to the All Ireland final where they will meet Cork who overcame Donegal earlier.

Dublin: C Trant; M Byrne, D Murphy, L Caffrey; S Goldrick, S McGrath, N Collins; L Magee, O Carey; C Rowe (0-1), N Healy, L Davey (1-1); S Aherne (2-4, 2f), N McEvoy, N Owens (1-1).

Substitutions: Amy Connolly (0-1) for Rowe (38) Jennifer Dunne for Owens  (41) Hannah O’Neill for McEvoy (50)

Galway: L Murphy; F Cooney, S Lynch, S Burke; E Flaherty, N Ward, C Cooney; C Cormican, S Conneally (0-1); O Divilly (1-0), T Leonard (0-7, 5f), L Ward; M Seoighe (0-1,1f), R Leonard, L Coen (0-1).


Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter