Close sidebar

Wins For Ardscoil Ris, Our Lady’s And The Rest Of The Results From The Dr Harty Cup

Masita GAA All Ireland Post Primary Schools Croke Cup Final, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary 28/3/2016 St. Kieran's College vs Árdscoil Rís North Circular Limerick St. Kieran's College's of Árdscoil Rís North Circular Limerick Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Wednesday saw the opening round of the group phase of the Dr Harty Cup – the premier second-level schools hurling competition in Munster.

In all, there were eight matches played across the province as the prestigious competition got underway with some of the best young hurlers in the country involved.

Champions of the last two years, Our Lady’s Templemore of Tipperary and Limerick’s Árdscoil Rís both got their campaigns off to winning starts, securing victories over CBC Cork and Charleville’s Scoil Na mBraithre respectively.

This year’s competition has four groups of four teams with colleges from every Munster county, except Kerry, involved.

Last season’s ‘B’ competition was won by John The Baptist Community School and they won their first game back at the top level, beating Kilmallock in their all-Limerick affair.

Elsewhere, there were wins for Nenagh CBS, Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG, CBS Midleton, St. Flannans College, Ennis and St Colman’s College, Fermoy.


Harty Cup round one results:

Group A 

CBS Midleton 1-21 De La Salle College, Waterford 0-12

Árdscoil Rís 3-18 Scoil Na mBraithre, Rathluirc 0-9

Group B

Our Ladys Secondary School Templemore 1-15 Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-11

St. Flannans College, Ennis 2-11 Castletroy College 0-10

Group C

John The Baptist Community School 1-16 Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock 0-09

St Colman’s College, Fermoy 0-14 Blackwater Community School, Lismore 0-11

Group D

Nenagh CBS 2-21 Scoil Na Trioniode Doon 3-13

Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG 0-16 Thurles CBS 1-12


Check out the latest episode of The 16th Man where we reviewed all the latest club action.

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at