Close sidebar

DJ Carey Voted Best Kilkenny Hurler Of All Time

All Ireland Senior Hurling Final Kilkenny 14/9/2003 DJ Carey raises the Liam McCarthy Cup on Hill 16 Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

In a vote carried out by The Kilkenny People, DJ Carey has been voted the the greatest hurler the county has ever produced. 

The selection ranked the top 25 hurlers to ever play for the county and is sure to be a cause for debate within Kilkenny and further afield.

The Hogan Stand have reported that Carey ranks above the likes of Henry Shefflin, Eddie Keher and Tommy Walsh respectively.

Carey scored 34-195 in his 57 appearances for the Cats at senior level, retiring in 2006 after collecting five All Irelands and ten Leinster crowns since debuting in 1989. “The Dodger” was selected as an All Star nine times throughout his illustrious inter-county career and played his club hurling for Young Irelands.

Currently manager of the IT Carlow Fitzgibbon Cup team, the 46-year-old has remained involved in the game and is remembered fondly as a hero on Noreside.

Seven out of the top ten in the selection played under Brian Cody in the current bainisteoir’s era of dominance and have the accolades to show for it. Along with Shefflin and Walsh, JJ Delaney, Noel Hickey, Eoin Larkin and Richie Hogan compile the ten best to have worn the black and amber.

Hogan is the only current player on that list. The Dansefort man has been hurling for the Cats since 2007, notching 8-82 for himself in his 37 championship appearance so far.

Of course, the vote is opinion based and the likes of King Henry and his ex-teammates on the list can feel hard done by, having smashed every record there was in the game of hurling in that glorious period for the Kilkenny hurlers.

The ten best Kilkenny hurlers of all time, as voted by The Kilkenny People are as follows:
1. DJ Carey
2. Henry Shefflin
3. Eddie Keher
4. Tommy Walsh
5. JJ Delaney
6. Frank Cummins
7. Ollie Walsh
8. Noel Hickey
9. Eoin Larkin
10. Richie Hogan

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.