Home GAA Hurling Limerick Dominate Pundit Arena Hurling Team Of The Year

Limerick Dominate Pundit Arena Hurling Team Of The Year

One of the greatest hurling championships of the modern era has come to a close with Limerick taking home the Liam MacCarthy Cup. We’re left with some fantastic memories of outstanding performances. After much consideration and debate, we have selected our team of the year.

1 Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

The Kilkenny goalkeeper has been unrivalled in the championship this year. He performed at a consistently high level all summer, producing some incredible saves especially in the All Ireland quarter-final against Limerick.


2 Sean Finn (Limerick)

The Bruff man has been quietly going about his business all summer but has been incredibly influential for John Kiely’s side. His performance last Sunday proved that. On the rare occasion Mike Casey didn’t get to the ball, Finn was there to tidy up and get Limerick out of trouble.


3 Daithi Burke (Galway)

It’s hard to believe Daithi Burke is only 25 years of age given the impact he has made over the last number of years. He has had an outstanding season at full-back with very little getting past him. Even when supposedly injured, he gave 100 percent to the cause.


4 Richie English (Limerick)

The Limerick full-back line deserve huge credit for the manner in which they nullified the Galway threat in the All Ireland final. Their work rate was savage and their decision making clinical. Characteristics that have been present in every performance by Richie English this summer.


5 Padraic Mannion (Galway)

What more can you say about this man? He was unanimously named the Sunday Game Hurler of the Year and for good reason. He is such a rounded player. Reliable in defence, attacking-minded and extremely clever with the ball. He has set the standard for all other wing-backs to try and replicate.

Leinster GAA Senior Hurling Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 3/7/2016 Kilkenny vs Galway Galway's Padraic Mannion celebrates winning a free Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy



6 Declan Hannon (Limerick)

The Limerick captain was outstanding on Sunday. In one move that will live long in the memories of Limerick fans, he saw a pass heading in the direction of Joe Canning, ran in front of him and intercepted it before hitting the ball between the posts. The epitome of a true leader.


7 Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

Another one of Limerick’s outstanding performers in the final though he didn’t quite match the highs of his display against Kilkenny. He is relentless in his pursuit of possession with a wonderful work rate. Often in the past Limerick’s half-back line has been a cause of concern but not anymore.


8 Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)

Darragh Fitzgibbon remains the front runner for Young Hurler of the Year. Given the level of skill, physicality and talent he has already, it’s could become one of the best Cork players in modern times. An All Ireland U21 title on Sunday would be nothing short of what he deserves after an outstanding season.


9 Cian Lynch (Limerick)

When Cian Lynch burst onto the senior scene a number of years ago, many expected him to be the next messiah of Limerick hurling but he has since matured into the ultimate team player who still displays moments of individual brilliance. His contribution this season has been phenomenal.


10 Peter Duggan (Clare)

Many were surprised that Peter Duggan didn’t get the nod for Point of the Year following his stunning effort against Galway which just summed up his performances all summer. Tenacious, skilful and fruitful. Dug Clare out of trouble on more than one occasion.


11 Joe Canning (Galway)

Though he had a quiet game by his standards, it was once again Joe Canning who brought Galway back from the brink on Sunday. Last year he was named Hurler of the Year but you could argue that he had a better season this summer. One of Galway’s ever-consistent leaders.

Galway Joe Canning


12 Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

Any of Limerick’s half-forward line could have made this team with Kyle Hayes especially unfortunate to miss out but the younger Morrissey brother had an outstanding season. You can see why he was captain of the winning U21 side as he is one of Limerick’s leaders who stood up when needed.


13 Seamus Harnedy (Cork)

The Cork captain was arguably their top performer this summer. He scored a phenomenal 3-16 from play this summer while he created many more scores. He epitomised what it means to be a leader. His performance in the Munster final was particularly memorable.


14 John Conlon (Clare)

We have long since run out of superlatives to describe the season that John Conlon has had. He was phenomenal in every game and even when it looked as though Daithi Burke had gotten the better of him in the drawn semi-final, he hit back with four crucial points from play. His best year in a Clare jersey.

Allianz Hurling League Division 1B 14/2/2016 Clare vs Offaly Clare's John Conlon Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan


15 Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)

Graeme Mulcahy has soldiered with the Limerick hurlers for years and on Sunday, after his best season yet, he was deservedly rewarded with the greatest prize. Some of his best work in the final was done off-the-ball, hunting down and turning over possession. Fitting that he scored their last, crucial point.


About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter