Home GAA Hurling Mannion Narrowly Beats Mulcahy To PA Hurler Of The Year Award

Mannion Narrowly Beats Mulcahy To PA Hurler Of The Year Award

Following a suitably dramatic All Ireland final that finished an epic summer of hurling, we asked our readers to vote for their Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year. 

After some brilliant performances, the nominees for Hurler of the Year were Joe Canning and Padraic Mannion of Galway and Graeme Mulcahy from the All Ireland champions, Limerick.

Cork’s Mark Coleman and Darragh Fitzgibbon were nominated for the Young Hurler of the Year award, alongside the man-of-the-match from the All Ireland final, Kyle Hayes.

While Galway may have lost the final by an agonising one point, it was Mannion who emerged victorious in this poll by a similarly close margin.

Mannion has been the standout player for the Tribesmen this summer, setting a new standard for wing-backs all over the country.

Meanwhile, although Darragh Fitzgibbon was favourite to pick up the Young Hurler of the Year award all summer, an outstanding performance in the All Ireland final saw Kyle Hayes convincingly take the title with 70 percent of the votes.

The official winners of the awards along with the All Star team of the year will be named at a ceremony later this year.


About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter