Close sidebar

Quiz: Can You Name Every All-Ireland Hurling Winning Manager Since 1980?

The 2017 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship will come to an end on September 3 – with Galway and Waterford battling it out to make history.

Both Micheál O’Donoghue and Derek McGrath will be looking to add their names to the list of managers to have won the Liam MacCarthy Cup – and with this in mind, we’re setting you a challenge – to name everyone else who has in the last 37 years.

Given that counties were often picked by selection panels before the 1980s, we’re asking you to name every manager to lead a county to glory since then.

Just seven counties have been successful in this period – but many names have been associated with the various successes.

Although this quiz accounts for 37 championships – there is just nineteen names to guess, as some men have achieved the feat on multiple occasions.

Cork had a joint management team in 1984 so we’ll accept either name for that particular answer.

We’re giving you five minutes to come up with all the names – and we reckon 32/37 or above is an admirable effort.

Jordan Norris, Pundit Arena.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: Jordan Norris

Mostly covering football and GAA - Jordan is currently studying a BA English in UCC, and can be contacted through .