Home GAA Dublin Dominate GAA/GPA All-Star Football Team

Dublin Dominate GAA/GPA All-Star Football Team

INPHO/James Crombie

The GAA/GPA All-Star football team has been announced, with All-Ireland champions Dublin being represented by no fewer than six players.

Jim Gavin’s side retained the Sam Maguire after a pulsating final replay win against Mayo in October, Stephen Rochford’s team themselves represented with four players (all of whom are at the back).

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final Replay, Croke Park, Dublin 1/10/2016 Dublin vs Mayo Mayo’s Lee Keegan and Diarmuid Connolly of Dublin
INPHO/James Crombie


The six Dublin players named, Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Brian Fenton, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny and Dean Rock, are all (with the exception of Cooper and Rock) named in the team for the second time. In total, eight of the fifteen players are included in an All-Star team for the very first time.

In all, six counties are represented in the side, with Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone all getting a look-in, as well as the first Tipperary player to win an All-Star in over a decade.

The announcement of the All-Star hurling team, as well as the respective footballer and hurler of the year awards, will be made on Friday night.

GAA/GPA All-Star Football Team

  1. David Clarke (Mayo)
  2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
  3. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
  4. Philly McMahon (Dublin)
  5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
  6. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
  7. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
  8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
  9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)
  10. Peter Harte (Tyrone)
  11. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
  12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
  13. Dean Rock (Dublin)
  14. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)
  15. Paul Geaney (Kerry)

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.