Close sidebar

Aidan O’Shea Left Out Of Mayo Starting XV For Sunday’s Clash With Galway

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final Replay, Croke Park, Dublin 1/10/2016 Dublin vs Mayo Mayo's Aidan O'Shea at the end of the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

Mayo have named their team to face Galway in Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final, and there is a notable absentee. 

Following the All Ireland finalist’s defeat of Sligo in the provincial quarter-final, boss Stephen Rochford has made one change to his starting XV ahead of this weekend’s encounter with last year’s Connacht champions.

The change is an enforced one, with Jason Doherty replacing the injured Conor O’Shea.

Connacht FBD Senior Football League, St Brigids GAA Club, Kiltoom, Co. Roscommon 22/1/2017 Roscommon vs Mayo Mayo Manager Stephen Rochford Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tom Beary

Aidan O’Shea has been left out of the side again by Rochford.

O’Shea was deemed not fit enough by his manager, having just recovered from a minor injury, to start Mayo’s championship opener. He did, however, appear off the bench in the second half.

The Mayo team for Sunday’s clash with the Tribesmen in full is as follows:

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2. Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
3. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
6. Lee Keegan (Westport)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen).


Be sure to check out the latest episode of our weekly GAA podcast, The 16th Man.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at