Close sidebar

The Sunday Game select 11 Limerick players in their hurling team of the year


The Sunday Game panel have selected 11 Limerick players in their All-Ireland Hurling Championship team of the year after their dominant victory against Cork.

Limerick claimed their third All-Ireland title in four years with a sensational 16-point against Cork in front of 40,000 fans at Croke Park on Sunday to solidify their place as the best side in the country beyond all doubt.

RTE panellists Jackie Tyrrell, Brendan Cummins, Shane Dowling and Ursula Jacob were on hand to select the team, with one player each from Cork, Kilkenny, Waterford and Clare joining the 11 Limerick men.

Cian Lynch gets the nod for player of the year.

Limerick’s Cian Lynch was chosen as the Sunday Game’s hurler of the year, after another impressive performance from the Treaty man in an All-Ireland final, in which he scored six points.

Lynch, who was named as the GAA’s All Stars hurler of the year back in 2018 following Limerick’s first All-Ireland success in 45 years, will surely be in the mix to pick up the award again for his efforts this year.

Former Tipperary Brendan Cummins was full of praise for Lynch after Sunday’s final and explained exactly what makes the Patrickswell club man such a good player.

“Jesus look, he’s a joy, to be honest with you. He has a complete box of tricks. Some of the things he has done here we’ve slowed them down so you can absolutely appreciate the skill,” Cummins said.

“There’s a number of Cork players around him, trying to close him down and put pressure on him because everyone knows Cian Lynch [is dangerous].

“Every time he has the ball in his hand it’s like the ground is hot around him. He’s moving quickly, he’s trying to get going, he’s spinning, turning. And all the time he has a picture of the pitch in his head.

“Once he gets possession, he knows what he’s going to do and he plays the ball in right. He’s a team player. That’s the key.”

Check out The Sunday Game’s hurling team of the year below.

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)
2. Sean Finn (Limerick)
3. Conor Prunty (Waterford)
4. Barry Nash (Limerick)
5. Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick)
6. Declan Hannon (Limerick)
7. Kyle Hayes (Limerick)
8. William O’Donoghue (Limerick)
9. Tony Kelly (Clare)
10. Jack O’Connor (Cork)
11. Cian Lynch (Limerick)
12. Tom Morrissey (Limerick)
13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Limerick)
15. Peter Casey (Limerick)

Read More About: ,