Close sidebar

Limerick boss John Kiely comments on ‘unusual’ Cork All-Stars snub

John Kiely

Limerick manager John Kiely has admitted that he was surprised to see All-Ireland finalists Cork not have any players selected in the PwC All-Stars hurling team.

The Treaty county broke the record for the most players from one team included in an All-Stars team, smashing the previous record of nine, achieved by Limerick themselves last year, past Kilkenny hurling teams as well as the Dublin and Kerry footballers.

Limerick’s group of 12 were joined by one player each from Kilkenny, Waterford and Clare, but no Cork player was bestowed with the honour, despite the Rebels finishing as runners-up to Limerick in this year’s All-Ireland Hurling Championship.

John Kiely on Cork’s All-Stars snub.

Kiely was obviously pleased with Limerick’s 12-strong group of All-Stars but admitted on RTE’s Morning Ireland that he found it “unusual” for Cork not to have any players included.

“It is unusual, it has to be said. For a team to be in an All-Ireland final and not to be acknowledged with one, or two or three or four or five, whatever it might be. Usually, you’d have multiples of them,” Kiely said.

“But our focus is on our own group and the acknowledgement of their work and their achievement and their performance levels.”

Patrick Horgan is perhaps the most unlucky to miss out.

While Cork captain Patrick Horgan is unlikely to be too upset on missing out this year, having been named in an All-Stars team on four occasions already, his omission is particularly surprising.

Horgan led his side to an unlikely All-Ireland final, and was the top scorer in this year’s championship, with a tally of 54 points.

Although Cork were well beaten by Limerick in the final, they did claim victories against Waterford and Kilkenny in this year’s championship, both of whom had players included in Conor Prunty and Eoin Murphy.

Clare’s Tony Kelly is the third non-Limerick player to have been included, having finished in second place behind Horgan in the championship’s list of top scorers this year.

Read More About: , ,