Close sidebar

Limerick break record in dominating 2021 PwC All-Stars hurling team

All-Stars hurling

Limerick have broken the record for having the most players in the PwC All-Stars hurling team, with 12 Treaty players included for 2021.

The record was previously set at nine, which Limerick achieved themselves last year, equalling the tally set by Kilkenny’s hurlers and the Dublin and Kerry footballers in years gone by.

Their 12 representatives show just how dominant Limerick were this year, as they stormed to a 16-point victory against Cork in the All-Ireland Hurling Championship final, to lift the Liam MacCarthy Cup for the third time in four years.

No Cork players have been selected in the team.

Notably, finalists Cork have not had any of their players selected in the All-Stars, despite having beaten every team they came up against in the championship, aside from Limerick.

Cork captain Patrick Horgan may feel a little hard done by, having finished as the All-Ireland Hurling Championship’s top points scorer this year, with a tally of 54.

Clare’s Tony Kelly, who was second in the top scorers list behind Horgan in this year’s championship, has been included in the team, taking his place alongside five Limerick players in the forward line.

Kilkenny goalkeeper Eoin Murphy has gotten the nod at number one, while Waterford’s Conor Prunty has been selected in the full back line.

Check out thePwC All-Stars Hurling 2021 below (Previous winning years in brackets)

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore, Kilkenny) (2016, ’18)
2. Seán Finn (Bruff, Limerick) (2018, ’19, ’20)
3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside-Ballinacourty, Waterford)
4. Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick)
5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2020)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick) (2018)
7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Limerick) (2020)
8. Will O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)
9.  Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)
10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick) (2020)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2018, 2020)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick) (2020)
13. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare) (2013, ’20)
14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Limerick)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

Read More About: ,