David Clifford and Bryan O’Mara named as Electric Ireland rising stars of the year

David Clifford

University of Limerick’s David Clifford and Bryan O’Mara have been named as the Electric Ireland rising stars of the year in football and hurling.

2022 proved to be a very good year for UL in GAA, as their hurling team were crowned as Fitzgibbon Cup champions by beating NUI Galway in the final, while the Gaelic football team were beaten in the Sigerson Cup final by the same university.

While the cup honours were shared evenly between UL and NUIG, the Limerick college has gotten the nod in the individual awards, as Kerry’s Clifford and Tipperary’s O’Mara have picked up the best player gongs.

David Clifford picks up another award.

While UL didn’t win the Sigerson Cup, it isn’t particularly surprising that Clifford has been rewarded for his individual efforts, as without him it would have been unlikely for the Limerick college to make it to the final.

Clifford has already won plenty of awards in his short senior career, as he was named on the All-Stars football team in 2018, 2019 and 2021, while he picked up the All-Stars young footballer of the year award in his first season in senior inter-county football.

Despite his talents, Clifford is still waiting to be crowned as an All-Ireland champion, although many do expect Kerry to end their wait for the Sam Maguire Cup this year.

Bryan O’Mara’s efforts have been rewarded.

UL captain O’Mara was crucial to his side’s efforts in the Fitzgibbon Cup, with his four points from play in the final against NUIG proving crucial as the Limerick college claimed a three-point victory.

O’Mara made his senior debut for Tipperary in 2020, although he hasn’t played a part in his county’s Munster Championship campaign this year as he opted to go travelling during the summer months.

While his inter-county career is currently on hold, O’Mara will surely have more opportunities in the future to play for Tipperary.

Read More About: , ,