Close sidebar

Former Dublin Gaelic Footballer Philip Ryan links up with Tipperary

Ryan will be available for David Powers side.

Reigning Munster champions Tipperary have been handed a massive boost, with former Dublin footballer Philip Ryan set to join their ranks.

Ryan never got an opportunity to represent his native county in the Championship, although he was on the panel from 2013-2016 and featured in a few league games.

Phillip Ryan links up with Tipperary.

The St. Brigid’s, Castleknock footballer won an All-Ireland with Dublin u-21s in 2012, who were managed by Jim Gavin. He is a nephew of Dinny Ryan, former Tipperary All-Ireland winning hurler.

Ryan is on David Power’s 36 man panel released on Monday.

Liam Casey is a notable absentee from the panel, as is Phillip Austin who recently retired. Colin O’Riordan is also unavailable, after returning to Australia to play AFL. Conor Sweeney will once again captain the team.


Tipperary begin their 2021 campaign away to local rivals Limerick on Saturday and it took extra time for them to defeat Limerick in the 2020 Munster Championship.

They will have promotion from Division three as their main target this year and they’re in a group with Limerick, Offaly and Wicklow, with the top two teams competing in a promotion play-off.

They will face the winners of Clare vs Kerry in the Munster Championship semi-final, with the losers eliminated from the competition.

2021 Tipperary senior football squad – Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers), Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Brian Fox (Eire Og Annacarty), Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan), Colman Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Conal Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Conor Bowe (Moyne Templetuohy), Conor O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers), Conor Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney), Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen), Daire Brennan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Emmet Moloney (Drom-Inch), Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Greg Henry (Killenaule), Jack Harney (Moyle Rovers), Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule), Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Kuba Beban (JK Brackens), Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers), Liam Ryan (Clonmel Commercials), Mark Stokes (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Michael O’Reilly (Clonmel Commercials), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), Paddy Creedon (Thurles Sarsfields), Padraic Looram (Clonmel Commercials), Paudie Feehan (Killenaule), Philip Ryan (St Brigid’s, Dublin), Riain Quigley (Moyle Rovers), Robbie Kiely (Barryroe, Cork), Sean O’Connor (Clonmel Commercials), Shane Foley (Moyle Rovers), Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle), Steven O’Brien (Ballina), Tadhg Fitzgerald (Moyle Rovers).


Read More About: , ,