Close sidebar

The Sunday Game Announces Its Footballer And Team Of The Year Awards

Another year of inter-county football is in the books, and it’s another Sam Maguire for Dublin – their fourth in a row.

Jim Gavin’s side were as dominant as ever in this campaign, and were suitably represented heavily in The Sunday Game’s ‘team of the year’.

The panel consisted of Raheny man Ciarán Whelan, Donegal captain Michael Murphy, Lee Keegan of Mayo, Tyrone legend Seán Cavanagh, and Kerry stalwarts Tomás Ó Sé and Colm Cooper.

In all, eight Dubliners made it into the all-star team, with beaten finalists Tyrone having two players in the side.

Monaghan have two representatives, and one from each of Donegal, Galway and Kerry.

Stephen Cluxton got the nod in goal, while the full back line consisted of Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone), and Eoghan Bán Gallagher of Donegal.

The half back line is made up of Karl O’Connell of Monaghan, and Dublin duo James McCarthy and Jack McCaffrey.

The midfield also has a distinct Dublin hue, with Brian Fenton partnering Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone). At half forward, Shane Walsh of Galway has Ciarán Kilkenny and Brian Howard of the champions for company.

Full forward sees Paul Mannion, Conor McManus for Monaghan, and finally David Clifford of Kerry to round out a terrific team.

Rory Beggan, Neil Flynn and Drew Wylie were among those considered hard done by from the panel for not being included.

Ciarán Kilkenny was agreed upon as the overall footballer of the year.

Read More About: , , , , , ,

Author: Chris Kelleher

Student whose interests lie in sports ranging from Darts to MMA, with the likes of Golf, Boxing and Soccer in between. Closet wrestling fan and a lover of sports psychology and stiff jabs.