There were some controversial scenes as Real Madrid took on Kashima Antlers at the Club World Cup final on Sunday.
Although Real headed into the game as heavy favourites, things did not go according to plan as the Spanish giants found themselves 2-1 down in the second half.
Although they equalised in the 60 minutes, as the game approached extra time, Real Madrid were struggling and the Japanese outfit looked to be on top. It was at that moment, that something strange happened.
Already booked in the 55th minute, Sergio Ramos brought down a Kashima player, simultaneously killing a counter attacking move – a clear yellow card offence.
However, after the referee reached into his pocket and fingered his cards for close to 30 seconds, the man in charge seemed to reconsider once he realised who the perpetrator of the offence had been.
Referee had already the hand in his pocket. Then he seems to realize Sergio Ramos had already a yellow, and changes mind.
WHAT. A. SCANDAL!
— Tancredi Palmeri (@tancredipalmeri) December 18, 2016
A second yellow would have been the end of Ramos and Real would have been down to 10 men in a game that they were already struggling in. However, the ref bizarrely elected to keep his cards in his pocket and, as such, Real went onto win the game in extra time.
Check out the rather fishy incident in the clip below;
— Peña Athletic Calif. (@AthleticClubCA) December 18, 2016
This ref -.- pic.twitter.com/DFtEpDfBzH
— Troll Football (@TrollFootball) December 18, 2016