Home Football English Football Watch: Should Alexis’ Goal Have Been Ruled Out For Handball?

Watch: Should Alexis’ Goal Have Been Ruled Out For Handball?

Arsenal took on Hull in the early game knowing anything less than a win would increase the pressure on Arsene Wenger even further.

Despite some hapless defending from the Tigers, the hosts found themselves still level on the half-hour mark as they continued to spurn countless chances. Approaching half-time, Alexis Sanchez made the breakthrough in controversial circumstances.

Keiran Gibbs drove the ball goalwards, only for it cleared off the line. The Chilean bundled the ball into the net with replays showing the ball went in off his hand.

Check it out the divisive moment below.

There’s no question whether or not it hit his hand. The officials had to judge whether or nor it was deliberate and after a short discussion, they agreed it wasn’t. Thierry Henry, not unfamilar with handball incidents, perked up with some ironic comments at half-time.

When asked whether or not it was a fair goal, he said:

“Well, the referee thought so.”

“Was it deliberate? No. If it doesn’t hit (his arm), is it a goal? No. It’s difficult.”

“It is not on purpose, it is a goal,”

Hull were in terrific form coming into the game and had been backed by many to cause a shock.

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.