Close sidebar

Cristiano Ronaldo Named In UEFA Fan-Voted All Time European Championship XI

L'VIV, UKRAINE - JUNE 13: Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal gestures during the UEFA EURO European Championships 2012 group B match between Denmark and Portugal at Arena Lviv on June 13, 2012 in L'viv, Ukraine. (Photo by Martin Rose/Getty Images)

Ahead of the European Championships beginning in France this week, UEFA asked fans to name their all-time Euros starting lineup.

More than 3.5m votes were cast, and in the end a team of eleven was chosen from 50 nominees.

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Defenders: Paolo Maldini (Italy), Franz Beckenbauer (Germany), Carles Puyol (Spain), Philipp Lahm (Germany)

Midfielders: Zinedine Zidane (France), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Andrés Iniesta (Spain)

Forwards: Cirstiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Marco van Basten (Netherlands), Thierry Henry (France)

Interestingly, the most prominent nation on the list, Italy, includes three players who have never actually won the tournament – Pirlo and Buffon were part of the side that lost the 2012 final to Spain, with Maldini suffering defeat at the hands of France twelve years earlier.

Neither Ronaldo nor Lahm has won the European Championships either, though they too have endured the heartbreak of falling at the final hurdle.

UEFA’s statistics also break down how each country voted, and thus how their own team would look.

England were not feeling the Ronaldo love, voting for Portuguese compatriot Luis Figo in his place. They also named Ruud Gullit instead of Van Basten and Peter Schmeichel ahead of Buffon.

MUNICH, GERMANY - JUNE 25: EM 1988, FINALE, NIEDERLANDE - UDSSR 2:0, Muenchen/GER; Ruud GULLIT/NED (Photo by Bongarts/Getty Images)

The Republic of Ireland lineup is virtually identical to the Europe-wide selection, with Gullit for Van Basten the only change.

Northern Ireland – just to be different – named five defenders at the back and included new Everton manager Ronald Koeman with, once again, Gullit in for Van Basten.

Finally, Wales also kept broadly in line with the rest of Europe, though they continued the theme of British Isles’ contempt for Van Basten by including Gullit. They also voted for two-time winner Iker Casillas ahead of Buffon.

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.