Close sidebar

PFA Premier League Team Of The Year Has Reportedly Been Leaked

during the Barclays Premier League match between Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham United at White Hart Lane on November 22, 2015 in London, England.

Leicester City and Tottenham have been the standout teams from this season’s Premier League, and this has been reflected in the PFA Team of the Year award allegedly leaked online today.

UPDATE: The PFA have since confirmed that the leaked lineup is in the fact the official Team of the Year for 2015/16.

The eleven players involved are set to be honoured at the award ceremony on Sunday, but a leaked image has already revealed the winners – though, in truth, there are few surprises.

In total, table-toppers Leicester and second-placed Tottenham dominate the team with four players each, with the remainder coming from single representatives from Manchester United, Arsenal and West Ham.

There will be very little controversy for many of the names listed, particularly the front six of N’Golo Kanté, Dele Alli, Dimitri Payet, Riyad Mahrez, Jamie Vardy and Harry Kane.

This combination of pictures shows the PFA Players Player of the Year shortlist of Leicester players (L-R) Leicester's Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N'Golo Kante.

David De Gea is named as goalkeeper – his form has been instrumental in Manchester United maintaining their push for a top four finish in what would otherwise have been a poor season for Louis van Gaal’s side. That being said, Kasper Schmeichel certainly has cause to feel hard done by such has been his role in Leicester’s Premier League title push.

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - APRIL 20: David De Gea of Manchester United looks on during the Barclays Premier League match between Manchester United and Crystal Palace at Old Trafford on April 20, 2016 in Manchester, England. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

The defence is one area that may cause some debate – while Héctor Bellerin (Arsenal), Wes Morgan (Leicester), Toby Alderweireld and Danny Rose (Tottenham) are all deserving of their place, there would certainly have been an argument for the likes of Robert Huth or Christian Fuchs to be included.

LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 05: Hector Bellerin of Arsenal in action during the Barclays Premier League match between Arsenal and Sunderland at Emirates Stadium on December 5, 2015 in London, England. (Photo by Paul Gilham/Getty Images)

While it is a great development for the league as a whole, it is a damning indictment on the so-called bigger clubs that there is not one representative from Chelsea, Liverpool or Manchester City.

The team, along with the individual awards (for which Mahrez and Alli are the current favourites) will be presented with their honours this Sunday.

The identity of the Premier League champions, however, could well go right down to the wire next month.

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.