Close sidebar

Tottenham’s Harry Kane Hits Back At Virgil Van Dijk’s Diving Accusation

Tottenham striker Harry Kane has dismissed accusations that he dived to win a penalty in Sunday’s 2-2 draw at Anfield.

The England International was adjudged to have been brought down by Liverpool goalkeeper Loris Karius in the frantic dying minutes of the game, and although he went on to miss that spot kick, Virgil van Dijk was still furious that the forward went down so easily.

Kane, however, is having none of that accusation, and insists that referee Jon Moss made the correct call in awarding the penalty.

“He (Karius) has dived, he got in the way and I’m a player, I’m not going to jump out of the way because it’s football.

“I definitely felt contact and I went down.”

Kane also joined manager Mauricio Pochettino in praising Moss for awarding the second penalty right at the death – one for which van Dijk himself was punished when he was deemed to have brought Erik Lamela down in the box.

“I thought the linesman showed amazing character to give (the second penalty) because a lot happened for the first one about the linesman, so to give that penalty was massive – and it was a penalty,”

Both penalty decisions went down as controversial after the match, with many ex-referees even failing to find a common consensus as to whether or not either one of them should have been given.

In any even, Kane duly converted the second penalty to level the match up at 2-2, and in doing so scored his 100th Premier League goal – and 22nd for this season.

The draw keeps Spurs two points behind Liverpool in the table, and kicks off a busy week in which they face Newport County in an FA Cup fourth round replay before welcoming Arsenal to Wembley for the north London derby next weekend.

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.