Home Football Ireland Squad Named For Crucial Qualifiers & Fans Aren’t Happy With One Omission

Ireland Squad Named For Crucial Qualifiers & Fans Aren’t Happy With One Omission

Having named a provisional squad earlier this month Martin O’Neill has now trimmed that panel down to 25 players as the build-up to Ireland’s two crucial World Cup qualifiers intensifies. 

Notable changes to the squad are the absence of Jeff Hendrick and James McCarthy, who are both injured, while recent call-up Sean Maguire has not been selected in O’Neill’s revised squad despite huge clamour for his inclusion.

Instead, the attacking options O’Neill has plucked for are Jonathan Walters (who did not take part in full training on Monday as a precaution), Shane Long, Daryl Murphy and David McGoldrick.

And selecting the above names over the Preston North End man has certainly not gone down well amongst fans.

Ireland take on Georgia this coming Saturday in Tbilisi before facing Serbia at home the following Tuesday evening, with both results potentially having a huge bearing on the Boys in Green’s hopes of qualification.

25-man Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Middlesbrough), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Glenn Whelan, Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), David Meyler (Hull City), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Jonathan Hayes (Celtic), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City)

Forwards: Jonathan Walters (Burnley), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Nottingham Forest), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town)

Rob Lyons, Pundit Arena

About The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.