Close sidebar

Watch: Blunder From Arsenal Goalkeeper Costs Alexis Sanchez Place At The World Cup

Alexis Sanchez and his Chile teammates missed out on a place at the World Cup in bizarre circumstances last night.

Although Chile were suffering at the hands of Brazil they still stood a chance of qualifying for a play-off spot.

They needed Columbia to beat Peru and they were 1-0 up and all was going well. However, disaster struck when Peru were awarded an indirect free kick.

Still trailing, Peru only needed a point to omit Chile and progress themselves.

As reported in the Telegraph

“Peru were awarded an indirect free-kick in the 76th minute. Paolo Guerrero decided to shoot straight at goal, and Ospina could only palm into his own net – meaning the indirect set-piece had touched another player en route to goal and was legal.”

“Had the Arsenal goalkeeper simply stood and let them ball fly in, the goal would not have stood and his teammate Sanchez could still have a chance of appearing in Russia.”

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=tVOnyMJvBSc

Sanchez and Chile will rue the Arsenal keepers lack of knowledge of the rules or perhaps we are being to harsh on a goalkeeper whose reaction should always be to make the save.

It is sure to be a tense meeting when Sanchez and Ospina return to Arsenal training.

The Chilean, who is expected to leave Arsenal on a free transfer at the end of the season, he has at least got himself more thinking time over his next destination as he now has the summer off.

Damien McEvoy, Pundit Arena

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at write@punditarena.com.


This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.