Close sidebar

Eamon Dunphy Slams RTE For Including Conor McGregor In Sportsperson Of The Year List

Irish football pundit, Eamon Dunphy, has slammed RTE’s decision to include Conor McGregor in the sportsperson of the year list ahead of Irish international Robbie Brady. 

Despite the fact that Conor McGregor has now become the biggest name in the world of MMA, Eamon Dunphy believes that Robbie Brady had a far more impressive year in the context of Irish sports.

Writing in his column in The Star, Dunphy slated the decision to include McGregor over Brady, claiming that the Irish broadcaster was simply ‘box ticking’ and ‘playing to the gallery’.

Brady indeed had a fantastic year, most famously heading home a later winner against Italy that sent Ireland into the last sixteen at the European Championships. However, McGregor broke countless records over the course of 2016, while he also became the first simultaneous two weight champion in the history of the UFC.

In this context, it does seem odd that Dunphy has specifically targeted McGregor when there are a total of 12 nominees up for consideration.

“Brady has somehow missed out on the RTE scheme,” says Dunphy.

“It is hard to figure out. It does look as if this is a mixture of a box-ticking exercise and playing to the gallery.

“Including McGregor and ignoring Irish footballers – especially Brady – is ludicrous.”

“It is shameful and daft that RTE have ignored him [Brady]”.

The full list of nominees can be seen below while the winner is set to be announced on RTE on 17 December at 9pm.

  • Seamus Callanan – Hurling
  • Eoghan Clifford – Cycling
  • Katie George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal – Cycling
  • Brian Fenton – GAA
  • Carl Frampton – Boxing
  • Denise Gaule – Camogie
  • Jamie Heaslip – Rugby
  • Daryl Horgan – Football
  • Conor McGregor – MMA
  • Annalise Murphy – Sailing
  • Paul O’Donovan – Rowing
  • Bríd Stack – GAA

To vote for one of the above nominees, click here.

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.