Close sidebar

Deadly Drogheda Sink Sorry Sligo

Sligo Rovers fans heading to the Showgrounds this Saturday night would have been forgiven for thinking that the club’s fortunes would change with ex player and Sligto native Gavin Dykes in charge but sadly it wasn’t to be the case as they were put to the sword by a Drogheda team who were thumped five nil last Monday night by Derry City in the FAI Cup.

Sligo fans were in a confident mood heading into the game with Dykes in charge and were hopeful that the long ball tactics used by John Coleman were a thing of the past. Thankfully that proved to be the case but the problems that have cursed them all season were still evident in this game.

Drogheda were dominant from the kick off and Sligo had goalkeeper Gary Rodgers to thank for keeping them in the game. But Rodgers was helpless to stop Drogheda striker Declan O Brien from scoring after he met a Gavan Holohan pass inside the Sligo box. Rodgers made fantastic saves in the first half to deny Gavan Holohan and Mick Daly.

Sligo showed a bit more bite in the second half as Eamon Zayed, Danny North, Danny Ledwith and Raffaele Cretaro all had chances to put Sligo on the scoresheet, but for all of their forward play they were punished by a brilliant Stephen Maher goal. Maher scored after a powerful run from midfield and a beautifully placed ball into the back of Sligo’s net.

As much as Sligo tried they couldn’t find that all important final touch much to the frustration of the fans and manager Gavin Dykes. Dykes will be hoping for a better performance from his charges as he brings them south to face Cork City in a game that will be shown live on RTE 2 next weekend.

Pundit Arena MOM: David Cawley

Referee: Rob Rodgers

Sligo: Gary Rodgers, Gary Boylan, Gavin Peers, Evan McMillan, Iarfhlaidh Davoren (Paul O’Connor 64), Raffaele Cretaro, David Cawley, Seamus Conneely, Danny Ledwith, Eamon Zayed (Gary Anderson 64), Danny North (Ruairi Keating 90).

Drogheda: Michael Schlingermann, Mick Daly, Aidan McNally, Ciaran McGuigan, Shane Grimes, Gavin Brennan, Stephen Maher (Carl Walshe 80), Peter McGlynn (Adam Wixfed 67), Gavan Holohan, Daire Doyle, Declan O Brien.

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter


Read More About: , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.