Home Football Scott Sinclair’s Dive In Scottish League Cup Final Sparks Outrage On Twitter

Scott Sinclair’s Dive In Scottish League Cup Final Sparks Outrage On Twitter

Celtic won their second Scottish League Cup in a row on Sunday, as they ran out 2-0 winners over Motherwell at Hampden Park.

A beautiful finish from James Forrest just after the break gave Celtic the lead and Moussa Dembele wrapped things up for the Glasgow side when he slotted home a penalty after 60 minutes.

That penalty, however, was ill gotten in the eyes of the majority of observers, including BT Sport commentator and  Celtic legend Chris Sutton, and became the major talking point of the final.

The incident that led to the controversial spotter involved Celtic’s Scott Sincliar and Motherwell’s Cedric Kipre. After managing to get in behind Kipre, Sinclair cut across the French defender in the penalty area and hit the deck upon the merest suggestion of physical contact. Referee Craig Thompson, however, was satisfied that Sinclair had been followed and not only awarded the penalty but chose to show Kipre a red card.

 

“I felt a little bit of contact,” Sinclair said of the incident later(via The Sun). “It doesn’t matter how much contact there is. I got a little tug on my arm and I went down.”

The incident and that quote sparked outrage on Twitter…

About Seamus Raftery