Home Football Three Liverpool Players Finish In Top 5 Of Ballon D’Or Voting

Three Liverpool Players Finish In Top 5 Of Ballon D’Or Voting

Lionel Messi is the winner of the 2019 Men’s Ballon d’Or. 

Messi was announced as the winner for the sixth time at an awards ceremony in Paris tonight as last year’s winner Luca Modric handed over the trophy to the Barcelona man.

The other awards which were announced tonight included the women’s Ballon d’Or winner, the Kopa Trophy and the Yachine Trophy.

20-year-old Juventus defender Matthijs de Ligt, who finished 15th in the overall Ballon d’Or, took home the Kopa Trophy which is awarded to the best performing player under 21. PSG’s Kylian Mbappe was last year’s winner. Jadon Sancho finished runner-up while Joao Felix came in third place.

Ballon d'Or
Matthijs de Ligt

Megan Rapinoe won the women’s Ballon d’Or after the American winger had a superb 2019 which included winning the Golden Boot at the 2019 Women’s World Cup. England’s Lucy Bronze and USA’s Alex Morgan finished in second and third place, respectively.

Liverpool’s Alisson Becker took home the inaugural Yachine Trophy awarded to the best goalkeeper over the year. Marc-André ter Stegen and Ederson were voted in second and third place, respectively.

Men’s Ballon d’Or Top 10

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

5. Mo Salah (Liverpool)

6. Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

7. Alisson (Liverpool)

8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

9. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

10. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: