Close sidebar

Breaking: Luka Modric Wins The 2018 Ballon d’Or

Ballon d'Or Luka Modric

Luka Modric has been announced as the winner of the 2018 Ballon d’Or at an awards ceremony in Paris tonight. 

The award caps off an incredible year for the 33-year-old Croatian who helped his country reach the World Cup final in Russia in addition to winning a Champions League with Real Madrid.

Modric’s win means that 2018 will be the first year since 2007 (Kaka) that neither Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi have scooped the prize.

Ballon d'Or Luka Modric

There were 30 candidates on the shortlist for the men’s prize which included 11 players who ply their trade in the Premier League.

France Football has awarded the prestigious prize every year since 1956 and 2018 is the first year which they have included a women’s award and a youth award which is known as the Kopa trophy.

Modric has already won the 2018 Fifa Best Men’s player award which was amalgamated with the Ballon d’Or between 2010 and 2015.

Award Winners: 

2018 Men’s Ballon d’Or – Luka Modric

2018 Women’s Ballon d’Or – Ada Hegerberg

2018 Kopa award – Kylian Mbappe

modric ballon d'or

Men’s Ballon d’Or Ranking: 

=29th: Hugo Lloris

=29th: Isco

=28th: Diego Godin

=25th: Jan Oblak

=25th: Mario Mandzukic

=25th: Alisson

=22nd: Edinson Cavani

=22nd: Sadio Mane

=22nd: Marcelo

=19th: Roberto Firmino

=19th: Ivan Rakitic

=19th: Sergio Ramos

=17th: Gareth Bale

=17th: Karim Benzema

16th: Sergio Aguero

15th: Paul Pogba

14th: Thibaut Courtois

13th: Luis Suarez

12th: Neymar

11th: N’Golo Kante

1oth: Harry Kane

9th: Kevin De Bruyne

8th: Eden Hazard

7th: Raphael Varane

6th: Mohamed Salah

5th: Lionel Messi

4th: Kylian Mbappe

3rd: Antoine Griezmann

2nd: Cristiano Ronaldo

1st: Luka Modric

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Sean McMahon

Sean is Deputy Editor and head rugby writer. You can contact him by email [email protected] or on Twitter