Home Football Mick McCarthy Names Ireland Team To Play Gibraltar In Dublin

Mick McCarthy Names Ireland Team To Play Gibraltar In Dublin

Mick McCarthy has named his starting XI.

The Republic of Ireland team to play Gibraltar has been named, and Mick McCarthy has made two changes to the side that played out a 1-1 draw with Denmark on Friday evening. Robbie Brady and Glenn Whelan have dropped to the bench, with Scott Hogan and Callum Robinson coming into the side.

The Ireland starting lineup is:

Randolph, Coleman, Stevens, Duffy, Keogh, Hourihane, Hendrick, McClean, Robinson, McGoldrick, Hogan

Ireland take on the team ranked 195th in the world tonight in Dublin. Gibraltar lost 7-0 to the Boys in Green the last time they visited the Aviva Stadium in a European Championships qualifier in October 2014. Robbie Keane (3), James McClean (2), Wes Hoolahan got the goals for Ireland. Gibraltan goalkeeper Jordan Perez also stuck the ball in his own net on what was an easy afternoon for Martin O’Neill’s side. The teams met again a year later in Portugal. This time Ireland won 4-0, with Keane (2), Shane Long and Cyrus Christie getting the goals.

Back in March, McCarthy’s second tenure got underway with a 1-0 win over Gibraltar. Jeff Hendrick got the only goal in a match played in difficult conditions.

Ireland go into the tie with confidence higher than it has been for some time following the 1-1 draw with Denmark in Copenhagen on Friday night. A win over Gibraltar will leave McCarthy’s side with 10 points, top of Group D with four games remaining in qualification as they seek to reach Euro 2020.

About Robert Redmond