Close sidebar

Euro 2020 Seeding Confirmed Ahead Of Draw On Friday

The Republic of Ireland still have a chance to reach Euro 2020 despite finishing third in Group D behind Switzerland and Denmark.

On Monday night, Denmark confirmed their spot at Euro 2020 at Ireland’s expense thanks to the 1-1 draw in Dublin.

Mick McCarthy’s side must now beat Slovakia away in a one-legged playoff semi-final on March 26, 2020.

Should the national team navigate that tricky tie, they will come up against either Northern Ireland or Bosnia and Herzegovina in the final of the mini-tournament on March 31, with the winner advancing to Euro 2020. The venue for the final will be decided at a draw on Friday.

On Wednesday, the seeding for Euro 2020 was announced, with the draw due to take place on Saturday, November 30. Ireland are one of 12 co-hosts and Dublin will stage four games at the tournament.

Ireland, should they qualify, will come through Playoff Path B and will be placed in Pot 4.

As a host country, Ireland – should they come through the playoffs – will be in Group E alongside Spain. They will take on the former world and European champions in Bilbao, and play their other two group games at home in the Aviva Stadium. The fixture details will be confirmed at Friday’s draw. However, Ireland – again, should they qualify – look set to be placed in a daunting group.

In addition to top seeds Spain, they will face one of France, Poland, Switzerland or Croatia, who are all in Pot 2 for the draw, and one of Portugal, Turkey, Austria, Sweden or the Czech Republic, who are in Pot 3.

As Ireland and Spain are both host nations, they will not be drawn alongside another host nation.

So, Ireland could end up in a group with Spain, France and Portugal – which would, undoubtedly, be the toughest group McCarthy’s side could find themselves in. The top two from each of the six groups at the tournament will advance to the last-16, as well as four of the best third-placed teams.

The host nations for the tournament are London, Dublin, Glasgow, Rome, Bilbao, Amsterdam, Budapest, Baku, Munich, Copenhagen, Bucharest, and St Petersburg.

The playoff draw takes place on Friday and the draw for the tournament will take place next Saturday.

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter

Read More About: , ,