Close sidebar

Harry Arter Returns But No Declan Rice As O’Neill Names Irish Squad

Republic of Ireland Squad Training, Ernst-Happel Stadium, Vienna, Austria 11/11/2016 Harry Arter

Martin O’Neill has named his provisional squad ahead of Ireland’s upcoming UEFA Nations League games against Wales and Denmark, with Harry Arter returning to the international setup.

There is a first international call-up for Rotherham’s in-form midfielder Richie Towell, while Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams, Greg Cunningham, Alan Browne, Shane Long, Seanie Maguire and Scott Hogan return to the squad after missing the September matches.

Speaking at his press conference, O’Neill outlined that Arter and Keane put their differences aside and that the Cardiff city midfielder is “happy with the outcome” of discussions and is “looking forward to coming in.”

On Rice, O’Neill outlined he had spoken to Rice and that he was still hopeful of the West Ham man will choose to play for Ireland.

James McClean has recovered from his broken wrist sustained ahead of the Wales game last month to take his place in the squad.

Missing out through injury are captain Seamus Coleman (foot), Jonathan Walters (Achilles) and Stephen Ward (knee).


Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Colin Doyle (Hearts), Sean McDermott (Kristiansund BK)

Defenders: Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Kevin Long (Burnley), John Egan, Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Greg Cunningham (Cardiff City)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Brentford), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Shaun Williams (Millwall), David Meyler (Reading), Harry Arter (Cardiff City), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Richie Towell (Rotherham United)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Graham Burke, Callum Robinson, Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), Scott Hogan (Aston Villa), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here