Home Features Mick McCarthy Announces Final 23-Man Irish Squad Ahead Of Qualifiers

Mick McCarthy Announces Final 23-Man Irish Squad Ahead Of Qualifiers

Republic of Ireland Squad Announcement, 3 HQ, Dublin 7/3/2019 Manager Mick McCarthy Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Mick McCarthy has cut his Irish squad down to 23, ahead of the European qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia in two weeks time.

The new Irish boss initially named a 38-man squad but has cut 15 players as the Boys in Green prepare for the game against Gibraltar on Saturday, March 23rd.

Preston’s Alan Browne and Portsmouth’s Ronan Curtis are both included in the 23-man squad despite picking up injuries recently for their clubs, but McCarthy outlined that he will likely replace the duo ahead of the games.

Goalkeepers Kieran O’Hara and Caoimhin Kelleher are both not included with the latter joining up with Stephen Kenny’s U21s.

Newport striker Padraig Amond is also cut from the squad, as are defenders Cyrus Christie, Jimmy Dunne, Kevin Long, Derrick Williams and Stephen Ward.

In the midfield, McCarthy has cut Shaun Williams, David Meyler, Aiden McGeady, James McCarthy and Daryl Horgan from the final 23 while up front, Aiden O’Brien and Scott Hogan miss out.

About Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here oisin@punditarena.com