Close sidebar

McCarthy Names First Irish Squad Ahead Of Gibraltar & Georgia

Mick McCarthy Declan Rice

New boss Mick McCarthy has named his first Ireland squad ahead of the Euro 2020 qualification games against Gibraltar and Georgia in two weeks time.


A notable inclusion is Luton Town striker James Collins who receives his first international call up at 28 following his excellent form in League One with Luton Town, while Sheffield United’s David McGoldrick is given a recall alongside Sunderland’s Aiden McGeady.

Newport County’s FA Cup hero Padraig Amond is also a surprise inclusion in the provisional 38-man squad.

The likes of Will Keane and Patrick Bamford are both not included despite expressing their interest in representing Ireland at international level.

Bournemouth goalkeeper Mark Travers is also included in the squad for the first time.

Ireland begin their Euro 2020 qualifying campaign away from home against Gibraltar on Saturday, March 22nd before Georgia visit the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday, March 26th.


Read More About: , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here