Close sidebar

Ireland’s Darren Randolph Included In Championship Team Of The Year

Irish number one Darren Randolph has been included in the PFA Championship Team of the Year following his tremendous displays with Middlesbrough this season.

Randolph has been in sensational form since the start of the campaign, keeping 19 clean sheets in all 44 games he has played in the league this season.

Middlesbrough currently sit just outside the play-off spots in seventh and Randolph has been key to their solid defensive showings this season, conceding just 39 goals – the joint lowest in the division.

It’s no surprise that the current top three, Norwich, Sheffield United and Leeds United make up the majority of the XI given the remarkable seasons the trio have had.

Table toppers Norwich have three inclusions, full-backs Max Aarons and Jamal Lewis as well as the league’s top scorer Teemu Pukki, whose 28 league goals have helped fire the Canaries to within touching distance of the Premier League.

Leeds United are also well represented with centre-halves Pontus Jansson and Liam Cooper included along with Spanish midfielder Pablo Hernandez.

Billy Sharp’s sensational season sees him included up top while his Blades teammate Oliver Norwood makes the midfield three.

Aston Villa pair Jack Grealish and Tammy Abraham round out the eleven in what’s been an incredibly competitive Championship season.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here