Close sidebar

Ireland Name U17s Squad With Talks Over Parrott Inclusion Still Ongoing

Ireland U17s coach Colin O’Brien has named his squad for the 2019 UEFA European Under-17 Championships, which kick off on home soil on Friday, May 3.

O’Brien has named a 19-man squad ahead of the tournament with one player’s inclusion up in the air as the manager is still in talks with Tottenham Hotspur over the possibility of playmaker Troy Parrott being involved.

Manchester City goalkeeper Gavin Bazunu is included after his involvement with Stephen Kenny’s U21s as is Derby County’s Festy Ebsoele who had been a part of the U19s squad.

Ireland will take on Greece, Czech Republic and Belgium in Group A of the competition which is taking place on home soil for the players.

“I can’t stress it enough to the public, this really is the biggest competition that they can play in. It’s the best of the best in Europe coming to Ireland – there is going to be some serious quality on the doorstep and we have some quality in our team as well,” said O’Brien.

“Even for our own development, to play in front of an Irish crowd, getting behind the team, we know how well our supporters get behind our teams, and we really need that. We will need that 12th man, because tournament football is demanding, you have three games in seven days.

“Every bit of support we can get, whether it is in Tallaght or coming down to the RSC, come out and support us.”


Republic of Ireland Under-17 Squad
Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City), Jimmy Corcoran (Preston North End), Harry Halwax (Derby County)
Defenders: Sean McEvoy (Ballinmallard United), Anselmo Garcia McNulty (Real Betis), Luke Turner (Aberdeen), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Timi Sobowale (Manchester City), James Furlong (Shamrock Rovers)
Midfielders: Charlie McCann (Manchester United), Joe Hodge (Manchester City), Brandon Holt (St Patrick’s Athletic), Seamas Keogh (Southampton), Ronan McKinley (Derry City), Sean Kennedy (Sunderland), Festy Ebsoele (Derby County)
Forwards: Matt Everitt (Brighton & Hove Albion), Conor Carty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Joshua Giurgi (Norwich City)


Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.