Close sidebar

Lowry And Taylor Included In Longlist For RTÉ Sportsperson of Year

RTÉ sportsperson

The 26 top Irish performers from across the sporting world this year have been longlisted for the RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year award 2019.

Following his first major title win at The Open in Portrush earlier this year, it’s no surprise that Shane Lowry is included in the list. He is joined by fellow golfer Rory McIlroy.

Another favourite on the list is Katie Taylor who made history by unifying all four World Lightweight titles before adding the WBO Super Lightweight belt to her collection.

From the world of GAA, All-Ireland captains and respective Players of the Year, Seamus Callanan and Stephen Cluxton have been longlisted as well as Dublin star Sinead Goldrick, who scored a crucial goal in the All-Ireland final against Galway, and Senior Players’ Player of the Year, Niamh Kilkenny.

Following a stellar 2019 which saw him earn caps for the Republic of Ireland, win the FAI Cup and named ‘PFAI Player of the Year’, Jack Byrne is given the nod. Also included is Denise O’Sullivan following another successful year with North Carolina Courage where she was named the club’s ‘Most Valuable Player’ and ‘Women’s Senior International Player of the Year’.

A number of athletes are longlisted following impressive performances at the European and World Championships, including Ciara Mageean and Rhys McClenaghan.

The shortlist for the RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year award will be announced on RTÉ Radio 1’s Sunday Sport on 8 December.

The winner will be revealed on the awards programme, which will be broadcast live on RTÉ One, Saturday, 14 December at 9.30pm.


RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year longlist:

1. Sam Bennett

2. Lydia Boylan

3. Jack Byrne

4. Seamus Callanan

5. Stephen Cluxton

6. Cathal Daniels

7. Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal

8. Ellen Keane

9. Sinead Goldrick

10. Niamh Kilkenny

11. Shane Lowry

12. Ciara Mageean

13. Rhys McClenaghan

14. Rory McIlroy

15. Oisin Murphy

16. Donnacha O’Brien

17. Aoife O’Rourke

18. Denise O’Sullivan

19. Sanita Puspure

20. Jonathan Rea

21. Davy Russell

22. Jason Smyth

23. Katie Taylor

24. Paul Townend

25. Nicole Turner

26. Kurt Walker

Read More About: , , , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter