Close sidebar

Premier League starlets earn Ireland U21 call-ups as Jim Crawford’s side chase history

Tayo Adaramola

Jim Crawford has named his squad.

Ireland U21 boss Jim Crawford has named his squad ahead of June’s crunch qualification window for his side, as they chase history in qualifying for their first ever European Championship.

Crystal Palace starlet Tayo Adaramola, QPR’s Sinclair Armstrong and Wolves’ Joe Hodge have all been called up for the first time, with Conor Noss returning to the fold after being left out recently.

Cork City shot-stopper David Harrington has also earned himself a call-up, after impressing for the Leesiders in the First Division, and with Ireland’s new-look U20 squad.

Ireland’s U21s chase history.

As expected however, the squad mainly comprises of players who have already featured in the U21 set-up under Crawford. Although, there is no place for Derby County’s Eiran Cashin who misses out.

The Boys in Green head into the games off the back of a huge 2-0 win against Sweden in March, which added new life into their qualification hopes.

Ross Tierney

With three wins, Ireland may qualify for the European Championship automatically, but with two wins against Bosnia and Montenegro, a play-off position would be in their grasp.

Those two games are at home, while they round off their campaign with an away trip to Italy on the final day.

Republic of Ireland U21s squad named.

Goalkeepers: Brian Maher (Derry City), Luke McNicholas (Sligo Rovers), David Harrington (Cork City).

Defenders: Tayo Adaramola (Crystal Palace), Joel Bagan (Cardiff City), Andy Lyons (Shamrock Rovers), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Mark McGuinness (Cardiff City), Jake O’Brien (Crystal Palace), Lee O’Connor (Tranmere Rovers).

Midfielders: Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Dawson Devoy (Bohemians), Joe Hodge (Wolves), Gavin Kilkenny (Bournemouth), Conor Noss (Borussia Möchengladbach), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Ross Tierney (Motherwell).

Forwards: Sinclair Armstrong (QPR), Darragh Burns (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Evan Ferguson (Brighton & Hove Albion), JJ Kayode (Rotherham United), Liam Kerrigan (UCD), Ollie O’Neill (Fulham), Mipo Odubeko (West Ham United), Tyreik Wright (Aston Villa).

Sign Up For The LOI Arena Newsletter

Read More About: , , ,