Close sidebar

Watch: Michael Conlan Absolutely Drills Previously Unbeaten Foe In Tuscon

In his fourth professional outing, Michael Conlan finally faced an opponent with a little ambition, an opponent who came to do more than merely survive, and the​ two-time Irish Olympian took advantage of Kenny Guzman’s game efforts to score the most spectacular finish of his career thus far.

After each of his three previous fights, Conlan appeared frustrated despite picking up stoppage wins. His opponents, particularly Alfredo Chanez, were journeymen with spoiler mentalities and they made it difficult for Conlan to look like the super-prospect many are touting him as.

The 3-0 Guzman, however, came to fight. He threw plenty of leather in speedy combinations and even landed a couple of decent shots on Conlan’s whiskers in the first. But these attacks also presented openings for Conlan to exploit.

With about thirty seconds to go in the second, Conlan landed a thudding counter right hand that had an obvious effect on Guzman’s legs. The 30-year-old kept throwing, however, allowing Conlan to hit him with the same shot again moments later. The fact that Guzman remained upright after eating these punches prompted commentator Teddy Atlas to suggest that Conlan doesn’t possess genuine one-punch power. On cue, the Belfast boxer drilled Guzman with another counter right that dropped him flat on his back. The tough American somehow managed to return to a vertical base, but the referee waved it off. Guzman protested bitterly but it was the correct call.

Conlan, who said post-fight that he hopes to box for a world title within two years, is expected to compete once more in 2017 – on the undercard of Vasyl Lomachenko vs. Guillermo Rigondeaux at Madison Square Garden on December 9th.

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.