Famed boxing coach Freddie Roach has given his take on the infamous stoppage that occurred in his former pupil Amir Khan’s matchup against Terence Crawford.
The stoppage that came in the sixth round of Khan’s WBO welterweight title showdown against Crawford has been the source of much debate in recent times.
The questions over Amir’s decision to bow out of the fight after the low-blow he was hit with and whether it was even his decision at all – as he himself claims, have been dominant in discussions in the last week or so.
Crawford was certainly in control of the fight by the time the mid-section came around and many, including several high-profile members of the boxing community, have put forth their belief that the Olympic silver medalist took the easy way out of the fight.
Speaking in a recent interview with Fight Hub TV, highly-regarded coach Freddie Roach gave his thoughts on the stoppage and what it means for Amir’s career.
“There was a lot of confusion going on. There shouldn’t be though. The rule is he hit a low blow. You get five minutes rest. If you can’t get continue that’s it. Don’t ask the trainer. Why would you ask the trainer? The trainer didn’t get hit low. The fighter did.
“After five minutes it’s disqualification or you go to the scorecards or whatever it is. Why was there so much confusion going on? Just go by the rules. They were asking other people and stuff.
“At one point Amir put his gum shield back in. What does that mean? That means he wants to fight on, right?
“He [Amir] quit. It was better than getting knocked out I guess for his career. But he doesn’t have much of a career left. Maybe one more fight. But if he gets knocked out again it’s definitely over.”
Following his two-year retirement from the sport after his brutal KO defeat at the hands of Saul ‘Canelo’ Alvarez, Amir returned with a pair of wins over Phil Lo Greco and Samuel Vargas before coming up short in his most recent high-profile clash against ‘Bud’ Crawford.
Cillian Cunningham, Pundit Arena