Home Rugby James Lowe Starts As Leinster Name Explosive Team For Wasps Test

James Lowe Starts As Leinster Name Explosive Team For Wasps Test

Leo Cullen has named an explosive team for Leinster’s Heineken Champions Cup opener against Wasps in the RDS on Friday evening.

There has been much speculation about whether there would be space for James Lowe but the New Zealander is named alongside Rob Kearney and Jordan Larmour in the backline.

Johnny Sexton takes up his place at out-half once again and joins up with Luke McGrath in the half-back line.

Garry Ringrose is the only change in the centre where he will partner Robbie Henshaw.

It’s a new front row with Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong all named to start.

Dan Leavy moves to blindside in the back row while Josh van der Flier is called into action. They are joined by Jack Conan at number eight.

Their bench contains a number of star names, including, Sean O’Brien, Scott Fardy and Joe Tomane who could make his European debut this weekend.

Kick off in the RDS is 7.45pm.

Leinster team v Wasps: 

15. Rob Kearney
14. Jordan Larmour
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton CAPTAIN
9. Luke McGrath
1. Cian Healy
2. Seán Cronin
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. James Ryan
6. Dan Leavy
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jack Conan

16. James Tracy
17. Jack McGrath
18. Andrew Porter
19. Scott Fardy
20. Seán O’Brien
21. Nick McCarthy
22. Ross Byrne
23. Joe Tomane

Rugby coverage on Pundit Arena during the Six Nations is in association with Vodafone, the official sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team. For your chance to win great prizes including tickets to see Ireland take on France Sunday, March 10th, click here #TeamOfUs Everyone In

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa Kennedy
Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter