Home Rugby Larmour & Byrne Start As Key Trio Miss Leinster Battle With Toulouse

Larmour & Byrne Start As Key Trio Miss Leinster Battle With Toulouse

Leinster head coach, Leo Cullen, has confirmed that key trio, Johnny Sexton, Robbie Henshaw and Rob Kearney will all miss tomorrow’s key Champions Cup clash with Toulouse.

Robbie Henshaw has not featured since sustaining an injury during the November Series and while it was thought he might be fit for this clash, it has come too soon for him.

Sexton, meanwhile, has been a doubt all week. While he is only carrying a minor hamstring injury, it is thought that the province do not want to aggravate the injury more.

James Lowe also sits out the game through suspension following his red card against Munster last month.

Ross Byrne has been named in his place and will partner Luke McGrath while Noel Reid is named on the bench.

Jordan Larmour will step in for Rob Kearney at full-back and alongside him in the back three are Adam Byrne and Dave Kearney.

Rory O’Loughlin and Garry Ringrose are again the centre partnership having played together in the Munster game over Christmas.

The front row sees Cian Healy, Seán Cronin and Tadhg Furlong scrum down with Scott Fardy and James Ryan behind in the engine room.

The back row features captain Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan at No. 8.

Conor O’Brien is in line to make his European debut from the bench having impressed over the last few months in the Guinness PRO14.

The winner of the game at the RDS will take control of the pool going into the final round of matches the following week which will decide who is heading to the knockout stages and who is heading out of Europe.

The game in the RDS Arena is completely sold out and The DART has advised Leinster Rugby that there is a limited service running this weekend due to engineering works taking place in Pearse Station.

Kick off for the crucial game is 1pm and it will be broadcast live on Virgin Media, Channel 4 and BT sport.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Jordan Larmour (31)
14. Adam Byrne (46)
13. Garry Ringrose (58)
12. Rory O’Loughlin (52)
11. Dave Kearney (128)
10. Ross Byrne (60)
9. Luke McGrath (105)
1. Cian Healy (200)
2. Sean Cronin (164)
3. Tadhg Furlong (94)
4. Scott Fardy (33)
5. James Ryan (24)
6. Rhys Ruddock (153) CAPTAIN
7. Josh van der Flier (69)
8. Jack Conan (83)

16. James Tracy (81)
17. Ed Byrne (34)
18. Andrew Porter (43)
19. Ross Molony (76)
20. Max Deegan (No 8)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (63)
22. Noel Reid (111)
23 . Conor O’Brien (10)

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa Kennedy
Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter