Home Rugby Sexton Returns To Captain Leinster Against Bath

Sexton Returns To Captain Leinster Against Bath


The pressure is well and truly on Leinster as they look to retain their Heineken Champions Cup after losing their last outing against Toulouse – their second match of the ongoing group stage.

This time around they will travel to Bath in order to get their momentum back on track.

Fans of the club will be happy to see the names of several returning internationals in the squad including Dan Leavy, who returns from the injury sustained before Ireland’s clash with the All Blacks.

The team can be viewed in full below:

Leinster are currently in second-place of Pool 1, two points behind leaders Toulouse who managed to get the upper-hand when the sides met last time around.

The Leinster press release (via their official website) can be read in full below:

There is a return for a host of Irish internationals and a welcome return from injury for a number of players.

Rob Kearney starts at full back with Jordan Larmour on the right wing and James Lowe on the left.

In the centre Noel Reid partners Garry Ringrose, while in the half backs Luke McGrath starts at nine with captain Johnny Sexton outside him at ten.

In the front row Cian Healy, Seán Cronin and Tadhg Furlong are named with Devin Toner and James Ryan completing the tight five.

In the back row Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier and the fit again Dan Leavy complete the pack.

On the bench Carlow’s Ed Byrne is in line to make his European debut. The 25 year old, who made his Leinster debut in 2014, has though been blighted by injury and missed 28 months with two separate knee injuries.

The loosehead prop has though been on a good run of form and games over the last 12 months with 23 games played in that time.

Rory O’Loughlin is also back from injury to take his place amongst the replacements.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets): 

15. Rob Kearney (202)
14. Jordan Larmour (28)
13. Garry Ringrose (55)
12. Noel Reid (106)
11. James Lowe (20)
10. Johnny Sexton (153) CAPTAIN
9. Luke McGrath (102)
1. Cian Healy (197)
2. Seán Cronin (160)
3. Tadhg Furlong (91)
4. Devin Toner (224)
5. James Ryan (21)
6. Rhys Ruddock (149)
7. Josh van der Flier (66)
8. Dan Leavy (58)

16. James Tracy (77)
17. Ed Byrne (30) – European debut
18. Andrew Porter (39)
19. Ross Molony (71)
20. Jack Conan (80)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (59)
22. Ross Byrne (57)
23. Rory O’Loughlin (48)

Kick-off at the Recreation Ground is at 3:15pm.


Rugby coverage on Pundit Arena during the Six Nations is in association with Vodafone, the official sponsor of the Irish Rugby Team. For your chance to win great prizes including tickets to see Ireland take on France Sunday, March 10th, click here #TeamOfUs Everyone In

About Cillian Cunningham

Lead mixed martial arts writer who can be contacted at [email protected]