Home GAA Fixtures Confirmed For 2019 Leinster & Munster Hurling Championships

Fixtures Confirmed For 2019 Leinster & Munster Hurling Championships


Munster champions, Cork will begin their title defence at home to Tipperary while beaten finalists Clare face an away game against Waterford in the first round of the Munster championship.

The only glaring issue from last year’s inaugural round-robin format was the fact that two teams, in both Leinster and Munster, had to play four games in four weeks, resulting in fatigue and an early championship exit for Tipperary, Waterford, Offaly and Wexford.

This has been resolved however as the championship will now begin on May 12th and will run for six weeks.


All Ireland champions, Limerick have a free pass on the first weekend and will meet Cork in their championship opener in the Gaelic Grounds before facing Waterford (away), Clare (home) and a final game against Tipperary in Thurles.

Joe McDonagh winners, Carlow have a tough start to their Leinster campaign with a trip to Salthill to face Galway. In the other opening round fixture, Kilkenny face Dublin in Nowlan Park while Wexford will have to wait till the second round where they will take on Dublin in Parnell Park.

2019 Leinster SHC Fixtures: 

May 11/12: Galway v Carlow; Kilkenny v Dublin; Wexford bye.

May 18/19: Carlow v Kilkenny; Dublin v Wexford; Galway bye.

May 25/26: Galway v Wexford; Carlow, Dublin, Kilkenny bye.

June 1/2: Carlow v Dublin; Galway, Wexford, Kilkenny bye.

June 8/9: Wexford v Carlow; Kilkenny v Galway; Dublin bye.

June 15/16: Wexford v Kilkenny; Dublin v Galway; Carlow bye.


2019 Munster SHC Fixtures: 

May 11/12: Cork v Tipperary; Waterford v Clare; Limerick bye.

May 18/19: Limerick v Cork; Tipperary v Waterford; Clare bye.

May 25/26 OR June 1/2: Waterford v Limerick; Clare v Tipperary; Cork bye.

June 8/9: Limerick v Clare; Cork v Waterford; Tipperary bye.

June 15/16: Clare v Cork; Tipperary v Limerick; Waterford bye.

Munster hurling final 2018


The draw for the 2019 football championship takes place tonight and will be broadcast live on RTE 2 and the RTE Player from 8.30pm.

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa Kennedy
Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter