Home GAA Champions UL Drawn In ‘Group Of Death’ For Fitzgibbon Cup 2019

Champions UL Drawn In ‘Group Of Death’ For Fitzgibbon Cup 2019

The draw for the 2019 third-level Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup has taken place in Croke Park this afternoon with one eye-catching group in the hurling draw. 

Current Fitzgibbon Cup champions, University of Limerick have been drawn in Group A alongside 38-time winners, University College Cork, NUI Galway and University College Dublin.

The Limerick side, who can boast a number of senior and U21 All Ireland winners, including Young Hurler of the Year, Kyle Hayes, lost out to UCC in this year’s league semi-final last month.

The Cork college were then beaten by last year’s Fitzgibbon finalists, DCU in the decider. The Dublin side, boosted by the likes of Paudie Foley, Patrick Curran and Chris Crummy, will be hoping to go one step further this year and they will begin their campaign in Group C alongside Waterford IT and Cork IT.

In Group B, two-time winners, Limerick IT, have been drawn with IT Carlow, Trinity College and the Garda College.

The final group contains Dublin IT, 2017 winners, Mary Immaculate College and recently-promoted, Maynooth University.

Group fixtures will be held on Sunday January 20, Wednesday/Thursday January 23/24, Wednesday/Thursday January 30/31.


Meanwhile in the Sigerson Cup, current champions, UCD will host CIT in the first round at Belfield. The Dublin college claimed their 34th title earlier this year when they overcame NUIG by one point in a thrilling final, thanks to a brace of late points from Liam Casey. The Galway side will begin their campaign at home to St Mary’s Belfast.

UCC were victorious in the senior football league last month, beating DCU on a scoreline of 1-12 to 1-11. They will face Athlone IT in the opening round of the championship in the Mardyke.

DCU, meanwhile, have been drawn at home to IT Carlow.

The action will kick off on the week of January 16. The quarter-finals will be held on February 6, the semi-finals on February 16 and the final will take place on February 20.

Full Sigerson Cup draw: (the first team have home advantage)

DCU v IT Carlow

Queens University v Maynooth University

IT Tralee v Ulster University

UCC v Athlone IT


NUIG v St Marys

Garda College v IT Sligo


About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa Kennedy
Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter