Home GAA Clare And Tipperary Name Strong Teams For Munster League Final

Clare And Tipperary Name Strong Teams For Munster League Final

Clare and Tipperary have both named their teams for the Co-Op Superstores Munster hurling league final in the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick tomorrow afternoon.

Cathal McInerney is the only change for Clare from the team that beat Waterford in the semi-final last week.

Former Hurler of the Year, Tony Kelly, captains the side from midfield while Ryan Taylor moves to the half-forward line alongside Diarmuid Ryan and Niall Deasy.

The Banner can also call on the services of Podge Collins, Jamie Shanahan and the Galvin brothers from the bench.

Meanwhile, Liam Sheedy has included seven of the All Ireland winning team of 2016 in his starting lineup for the clash. Colin English and Seamus Callanan take their place in the impressive forward line while Padraic Maher will once again, wear the full-back jersey.

Noel McGrath, who registered 1-5 against Kerry, is among the notable names on the bench for the Premier County, alongside Dan McCormack, Ronan Maher and Barry Heffernan.

Tomorrow’s final will be a warm-up for their opening round clash in the Allianz National Hurling league in two weeks time in Semple Stadium.

Throw-in at the Gaelic Grounds is 2pm.


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen Gaa)

2. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona GAA Club)

3. David McInerney (Tulla Gaa)

4. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones na Sionna GAA Club)

5. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)

6. Conor Cleary (St.Joseph’s Miltown Malbay GAA Club)

7. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge GAA Club)

8. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)

9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea Gaa) – Captain

10. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe GAA Club)

11. Niall Deasy (Ballyea)

12. Ryan Taylor (Clooney Quin GAA Club)

13. Colin Guilfoyle (Newmarket On Fergus Gaa)

14. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)

15. Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley GAA)



1 Barry Hogan – Kiladangan

2 Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill

3 Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields

4 Donagh Maher – Burgess

5 Alan Flynn – Kiladangan

6 Séamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s

7 Joe O’Dwyer – Killenaule

8 Willie Connors – Kiladangan

9 Michael Breen – Ballina

10 Jason Forde – Silvermines

11 Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha

12 Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s

13 Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash

14 Seamus Callanan – Drom-Inch

15 Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg


About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa Kennedy
Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter