Home GAA Clare Rally Late To Lift First McGrath Cup In 11 Years

Clare Rally Late To Lift First McGrath Cup In 11 Years

Clare footballers hit three late points to defeat Cork in the McGrath cup final on a scoreline of 1-09 to 0-09.

As the game entered the final ten minutes level, a brace from Keelan Sexton edged Clare in front before half-back Dean Ryan popped up in the second minute of injury time to seal a three-point victory.

The first half was a pretty drab affair with both sides registering three points apiece the only difference between the sides was Gordon Kelly’s somewhat fortuitous goal on eight minutes when he deceived Chris Kelly in the Cork goal from long-range.

clare cork mcgrath cup

The intensity picked up in the second half, however, and Clare at one point led by five points as Sexton and midfielder turned full-forward Gary Brennan wreaked havoc up front.

Cork rallied to kick five in a row and put the teams level heading down the home stretch.

It was to be Clare’s day, however, as they clinched their first McGrath Cup win since 2008, leaving them in confident mood heading into their league opener against Donegal in two weeks time.

clare cork mcgrath cup

Cork will be licking their wounds but will return to action as well in two weeks when they travel to Fermanagh.

Scorers for Clare: K Sexton (0-4, 0-3 frees); G Kelly (1-0); C O’Connor (0-2 frees), G Brennan (0-2); D Ryan (0-1).

Scorers for Cork: S Sherlock (0-2 frees), M Collins (0-2, 0-1 free), D Gore (0-2, 0-1 free); E McSweeney, C Kiely, P Kelleher (0-1 each).

clare cork mcgrath cup final

Clare: E Tubridy; G Kelly, C Brennan, K Harnett; D Ryan, A Fitzgerald, E Collins; D Bohannon, C O’Connor; C O’Dea, D O’Halloran, D Coughlan; G Cooney, G Brennan, K Malone.

Subs: K Sexton for O’Halloran, S O’Donoghue for Gooney (both HT); G O’Brien for Malone (47 mins); D Tubridy for Bohannon (55); S Collins for Coughlan (57).

clare cork mcgrath cup

Cork: C Kelly; S Ryan, P Murphy, A Browne; L O’Donovan, T Clancy, S Cronin; J Fitzpatrick, R O’Toole; J O’Rourke, E McSweeney, C Kiely; M Collins, P Kelleher, S Sherlock.

Subs: D Gore for Sherlock (43 mins); N Walsh for Ryan, K O’Donovan for O’Rourke (both 51); T Corkery for Kiely (60); for B Murphy for Cronin (66).

Referee: P O’Sullivan (Kerry)

About Michael Corry

Digital Sports Journalist based in Dublin. Proud 'Nordy' who loves anything Armagh related. Hit me up if you have a unique story to tell. Twitter: @Corry_10 Instagram: @Corry_10